23 Hangers

I have to credit Miss Minimalist for the inspiration for today’s blog. In the blog she has a list for a minimalist men’s wardrobe, which consists of the following:

  • 6 business casual shirts
  • 3 work pants
  • 3 t-shirts
  • 2 polo shirts
  • 3 sweaters
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 1 winter jacket
  • 1 sport coat
  • 1 black/dark grey suit
  • 2 ties
  • 1 reversible belt (black/brown)
  • Summer sandals
  • European sneakers
  • Dress shoes
  • Winter Boots [Possibly Optional]
  • 9 pairs of socks (each pair counted as an “item”)
  • 1 pair of Pajamas [Optional]
  • 2 pairs of Shorts [Optional]
  • Winter accessories: gloves, scarf, earmuffs/hat
  • Sunglasses
  • Watch
  • Work Bag

This is, for the most part, total genius. I’m tweaking this to make my own list. Here goes:

6 business shirts: the reasoning is that you have one for every day of the working week, plus an extra one for when you forget to do laundry. Genius! I’m adopting this, using mostly white and a couple of icy blue ones.

3 work pants: when I work, I tend to wear suits, so I can get away with 2 pairs.

3 t-shirts: Right now I have 6. I can get by with three. I’ve given one away, and when some wear out (which they will), I won’t replace them.

2 polo shirts: God do I hate polo shirts! They’re the mullet haircut of the clothing world; trying to be formal (with a collar) and casual (short sleeved) at the same time. I do NOT own ANY polo shirts. It reminds me of a company that I contracted for some years ago, where you could wear “business casual”; polo shirts were acceptable, t-shirts were not. Polo shirts are bullshit. I don’t own any, and I won’t be buying any.

3 sweaters: I only own one and it needs replacing. I can get by with 2, a v-neck and a round neck, not black, as I tend to use coats a lot.

1 pair of jeans: I only own one pair of jeans, having given away two pairs of black jeans. I’m not in a thrash metal punk band, so I don’t need to own black jeans any more than I need to own a polo shirt. Did I mention that I hate polo shirts, by the way?

1 winter jacket: living in Melbourne, I have become a conoisseur of jackets and coats, so this is one place I will exceed the guidelines. Firstly, I have a great coat that I bought circa 1993; it’s still in perfect condition, it goes down below my knees, and it is unbelievably warm. It is for those few days in the middle of winter when it’s “oh my God I can’t believe how cold it is today” days, when there is frost cruching underfoot. Needless to say I took it with me to Denmark when I went there last winter and it served me oh so well.

Then there is the trenchcoat, which is for windy and wet. It’s not designed so much for the cold days but for the really mucky damp days you get in spring.

Lastly, there is the peacoat which is on my wishlist. Like the greatcoat but shorter, it’s designed for cold days (not as cold as greatcoat ones) where you’re jumping on and off trams. If you’re on an old W-class tram, you need something warm and you also need to be mobile, hence the peacoat.

1 sport coat: I have a beautiful one in velour with a houndstooth design. Love it.

1 black/dark grey suit: When I work I wear suits, I need 3. Currently I have 2. When I get a job, I will get one more.

2 ties: I wear ties every day when I work, so I’ll get four. I have four right now, I’ve just given away the excess.

1 reversible belt (black/brown): No, just black for me. I find that jeans need a thicker belt than pants or suits, so I have two black belts, a thick and a thin.

Summer sandals: I don’t own these yet. I promise you, I will never team these with socks!

European sneakers: I have a pair of sneakers, at some point I will trade up. Not a priority for me right now though.

Dress shoes: I want 2 pairs: a black pair of lace-ups, and a black pair of slip-ons. If you’ve ever flown in the USA it’s handy to have shoes that come off.

Winter Boots [Possibly Optional]: I have (and need) a pair of winter boots.

9 pairs of socks (each pair counted as an “item”): Whatever. I think I have about 12 pair, I’m not sure. I buy them all the same colour (black) so I don’t have to worry about pairing them up. Life’s too short to pair socks!

1 pair of Pajamas [Optional]: Nope.

2 pairs of Shorts [Optional]: I have a going-out pair of shorts and a workout pair.

Winter accessories: gloves, scarf, earmuffs/hat: gloves — yes, scarf — yes, 2 (a thick one and a thin one), earmuffs/hat — no.

Sunglasses: I *do* so want a nice pair of sunnies. Not a high priority, but one nonetheless.

Watch: I have one that needs a new battery. Must replace battery.

Work Bag: I tend not to tote a lot of stuff around with me, so I’m not sure I need one.

Addition: 3 long-sleeved shirts: missing from the original list. Replacing the polo shirts. Did I mention just how much I hate polo shirts? Especially the yellow ones. If you own a yellow polo shirt, seriously, do us all a favour, and burn it.

Right, here is the updated list:

  • 6 business casual shirts
  • 3 2 work pants
  • 3 t-shirts
  • 2 polo shirts 3 long sleeved shirts. No polo shirts. Ever. I hate them, did I mention that?
  • 3 2 sweaters
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 1 winter jacket Greatcoat, Trenchcoat, Peacoat
  • 1 sport coat
  • 1 3 black/dark grey suits
  • 2 4 ties
  • 1 reversible belt (black/brown) 2 belts, one thick, one thin, both black
  • Summer sandals
  • European sneakers
  • Dress shoes (2 pairs, a pair of laceups and a pair of slipons)
  • Winter Boots [Possibly Optional]
  • 9 ? pairs of socks (each pair counted as an “item”)
  • 1 pair of Pajamas [Optional]
  • 2 pairs of Shorts [Optional]
  • Winter accessories: gloves, scarf, earmuffs/hat
  • Sunglasses
  • Watch
  • Work Bag

That’s pretty much it. And now that I’ve got a list, I can see what’s missing that’s a priority (business shirts) and what’s a lower priority (a suit, a pair of slipons shoes, sandals, European sneakers, peacoat, sweaters, new ties and getting my watch repaired). It’s so much easier shopping off a list.

Thanks Miss Minimalist!

One Response to “23 Hangers”

  1. The Power of Lists | Live With Less, Live With More Says:

    […] a list. I made a list of all the clothes in my wardrobe a few months ago, and the clothing I need, here. Right now I don’t need t-shirts but I do need business shirts: I’ll be going shopping […]

Leave a Reply

