Delicious Unfolding

I’ve discovered a new metaphor for my minimalist journey — indeed, my life — with the term delicious unfolding. I’m not sure where I got it from (did I accidentally steal it from Abraham Hicks?), but I don’t care. I like it, and it’s staying. At the moment it’s easy for me to get unhappy with a lot of things in my life.

  • I’m not happy about my finances.
  • I’m not happy about my accommodation.
  • I’m not happy about my clutter
  • I’m not happy about my lack of relationship.
  • I’m not happy about my lack of work.
  • I’m not happy about my inability to travel the world due to financial constraints, etc. etc.

You can see where this is taking me, and it’s not to a happy place. Not only that, but from that unhappy place it’s hard to get to a happy one. So, it’s time for a reframe. And this is where the metaphor “delicious unfolding” really comes to play.

I don’t have to be “there” yet; indeed, I’ll never have “arrived”. So I’m looking at the improvement that’s taking me towards where I want to be, as evidence of the delicious unfolding.

  • I’m so happy that my finances are improving, and I have a financial counsellor onside.
  • I’m so happy that I have a stable roof over my head.
  • I’m so happy that I live in Zone 1, near a train and a tram.
  • I’m so happy that I’m free to improve where I live.
  • I’m so happy that I can grow vegetables here.
  • I’m so happy that most of my clutter is sorted.
  • I’m so happy that I’m taking the time to optimise my health.
  • I’m so happy that my diet has worked brilliantly and I’ve lost 10 kilograms.
  • I’m so happy that I can say “no” to sugar, red meat, dairy, etc. easily.
  • I’m so happy that I’ve been exercising regularly all year (and some of last year, too).
  • I’m so happy that I found a free way to exercise on the internet (onehundred pushups) that I like to do.
  • I’m so happy that I’ve joined the local library and can read great books for free.

I could go on, but you get the drift. There’s improvement happening, and I’m driving that improvement; I’m finding what’s immediately in front of me and do the next step. And of course, as I declare my life to be a delicious unfolding, that’s what is now showing up. I’m actually looking forward to the rest of 2013 instead of dreading what may be around the corner.

So my life’s a delicious unfolding. Drop me a line in the comments if your life is too, or feel free to add another metaphor.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

